The Devouring Gray – Christine Lynn Herman. Releasing April 2nd 2019.Screenshot 2019-03-24 at 17.11.43

I was lucky enough to be sent a review copy of this book by the kind people over at Titan Books. All opinions are my own! I am so happy to be part of the blog and instagram tour and have a read of everyone else’s lovely opinions and pictures.

Can I just say how hyped I was for this release? I have been anticipating this release for at least a year now. I have followed updates from the author on

Tour Image SQUARE

her twitter page since that time and I have tracked the progress of the book ever since. WELL. This book did not disappoint.

S Y N O P S I S

On the edge of town a beast haunts the woods, trapped in the Gray, its bonds loosening…

Uprooted from the city, Violet Saunders doesn’t have much hope of fitting in at her new school in Four Paths, a town almost buried in the woodlands of rural New York. The fact that she’s descended from one of the town’s founders doesn’t help much, either—her new neighbours treat her with distant respect, and something very like fear. When she meets Justin, May, Isaac, and Harper, all children of founder families, and sees the otherworldly destruction they can wreak, she starts to wonder if the townsfolk are right to be afraid.

When bodies start to appear in the woods, the locals become downright hostile. Can the teenagers solve the mystery of Four Paths, and their own part in it, before another calamity strikes

Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36535913-the-devouring-gray?from_search=true

From reading the synopsis all of those months ago, I knew that I would read this book as soon as it came out. Incidently, I was lucky enough to receive an early finished copy of the book. I must admit that I may have scared the postman when I squealed with delight when I opened the door and saw the TITAN books logo on the envelope.

T H O U G H T S

The atmosphere of this story gave me chills. Actual chills! I initially heard how comparisons had been made between TDG and riverdale, stranger things and the raven boys. I adored Riverdale so this was another reason why I wanted to read this book so much.

There were a few different points of view throughout the story. This kept the story flowing well because you never knew what was coming next. There were points when I wanted to continue the story in that specific POV but this kept me reading the whole book. My favourite character was Violet, who is one of the four founding families. There were also Justin, Harper and Isaac who also had their own stories.

Another enjoyable factor for me personally was that the story took place in a small town, which gave very moody and dark atmospheric vibes to the story. Be prepared for some lengthy world building at the beginning: this ensures a fabulous set up for the main plot.

Overall, for a debut novel I was very impressed. I will definitely be reading the sequel when it comes out, as I am not ready to be finished with this world. I cannot say a lot more without spoiling the story – do let me know your thoughts below.

 

Thankyou for reading!

F

 

 

Leave a comment